This year marks the 40th anniversary of Hutchison House Museum, located in one of the oldest limestone houses in Peterborough, at 270 Brock Street. The House is owned and operated as a living history museum by the Peterborough Historical Society.
The original residents, Dr. John Hutchison, his wife Martha and their children moved into the house in 1837. Sir Sandford Fleming, who was Dr. Hutchison’s second cousin, arrived in Peterborough in 1845 when he was 18 years old and called the doctor’s house home for the next 2 years. The Sir Sandford Fleming room includes one of his original maps of Peterborough, along with his sextant and other surveying tools.
The first two floors are restored to the time period when the Hutchison family lived there, including a doctor’s study with medical instruments, while the top floor is reminiscent of the Victorian era, during the time the Harvey & Connal families lived there.
During July and August from Tuesday to Sunday, Scottish Tea is offered every afternoon between 1 p.m. to 4 p.m. in the 1840s kitchen or on the terrace, weather permitting. The teas include fresh baked scones and oat cakes served with home-made jam, butter, and whipped cream along with a choice of hot tea, iced tea or lemonade.
Visitors are welcome to tour the museum with costumed interpreters, stroll through the herb garden and flower beds or just enjoy tea on the terrace. Our tea servers are charming young volunteers also dressed in costume.
Admission is $5 for adults and $2 for children, and for the teas, $10 for adults, $5 for children between six and ten years old, and free for children five and under. For more information, please call 705-743-9710 or visit http://www.hutchisonhouse.ca